It’s Seekak and Hyderabad Sharks in final

Mazhar heroics goes in vain

By A.A. Merchant

JEDDAH — Seekak XI and Hyderabad Sharks qualified for the final of M. Iqbal Memorial T20 Cup organized by Jeddah Cricket Association (JCA). In the semifinals, Seekak knocked off KAIA by 3 wickets in a close encounter and Hyderabad Sharks eliminated new entrant Abu Dawood in a thrilling finish by 7 runs.

Sheroze (68) and Yasir Saeed (61) got Hyderabad Sharks to a good start as they put on 102 runs for the second wicket. Thereafter, they lost couple of wickets in succession, however, lower order southpaw Asim stroked an unbeaten 42 to take them to 248 for 4 in 20 overs.

In reply, Abu Dawood was off to a bad start to be at 22 for 2. But Mazhar Abbasi took control from one end while wickets tumbled at the other. He defied all bowlers and launched his fusillade with 10 sixes and 12 fours in a superb knock to remain unbeaten on 127 off only 50 balls, putting on 125 runs with Hasnath (49). Later, Mazhar ran out of partners as tight bowling by Sheroze (3 for 35), tilted scales in favor of the Sharks who finally won the nail-biting thriller by 7 runs.

In the other semifinal, Ahsan (52) and Adnan (78) got KAIA off to a comfortable score as they put on 143 runs for the second wicket. Then Salman applied the brakes with his hostile pace to pick up 4 for 24. KAIA finally ended at a fighting score of 245-7 in 20 overs.

In reply, Seekak batsmen Bilal (86) and Farooq (38) batted aggressively after losing few early wickets. They put on 86 runs, getting their team to victory with 5 balls to spare.


Hyderabad Sharks beat Abu Dawood by 7 runs. Hyderabad Sharks 248-4 in 20 overs (Yasir 61, Sheroze 68, Asim 42 not out, Adalat 2 for 38). Abu Dawood 241-7 in 20 overs (Mazhar Abbasi 127 not out, Hasanath 49, Shehrose 3 for 35).

Seekak XI beat KAIA by 3 wickets. KAIA 245-7 in 20 overs (Ahsan 52, Adnan 78, Salman 4 for 24, Kabir 2 for 40). Seekak 249-7 in 19.1 overs (Bilal 86, Farooq 38, Abdul Hafeez 2 for 33, Mansoor 2 for 57).