Anti-Terror Quartet adds 2 entities, 11 individuals to terror list


RIYADH — The Anti-Terror Quartet (ATQ) countries have added two organizations and 11 individuals to their state-sponsor list of terrorism and terror financing.

Among the entities named includes the International Union of Muslim Scholars, headed by Yusuf al-Qaradawi and was founded in 2004. It is currently headquartered in Qatar.

The ATQ countries have previously designated several individuals and organizations whom they accuse of financing terror groups across the region, including Doha-based Qaradawi.


1. The International Islamic Council "Massaa'"

2. World Union of Muslim Scholars

1. Khaled Nazem Diab

2. Salem Jaber Omar Ali Sultan Fathallah Jaber

3. Moyasar Ali Musa Abdullah Jubouri

4. Mohammed Ali Saeed Atm

5. Hassan Ali Mohammed Juma Sultan

6. Mohammed Suleiman Haidar Mohammed Al-Haydar

7. Mohammed Jamal Ahmed Hishmat Abdul Hamid

8. Alsayed Mahmoud Ezzat Ibrahim Eissa

9. Yahya Alsayed Ibrahim Mohamed Moussa

10. Qadri Mohamed Fahmy Mahmoud Al-Sheikh

11. Alaa Ali Ali Mohammed Al-Samahi

“The two listed entities are terrorist organizations working to promote terrorism through the exploitation of Islamic discourse and its use as a cover to facilitate various terrorist activities. The Individuals also have carried out various terrorist operations in which they have received direct Qatari support at various levels, including providing them with passports and assigning them to Qatari institutions with a charitable appearance to facilitate their movement,” a statement from the Saudi Press Agency read.

“Through their monitoring, the four countries emphasize continued Qatari authorities' support for and sponsor and finance of terrorism, promotion of extremism and dissemination of hate speech, and that these authorities have not taken effective action to stop terrorist activity,” the statement added.

Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates make up the quartet. — Agencies